Defunct indie rockers Rilo Kiley prep rarities compilation

On hiatus since 2010, the LA band will release their rkives (get it?).

In the early aughts, Rilo Kiley released a trio of well-received, folksy pop albums (Take Offs and Landings, The Execution of All Things, and More Adventurous) for indies, before releasing their major label change-of-pace Under the Blacklight in 2007.

After that, the band — Jenny Lewis, Blake Sennett, Pierre de Reeder, and Jason Boesel — took time to explore other projects. Most notably, Lewis released two albums as a solo artist, collaborated with boyfriend Johnathan Rice as Jenny and Johnny, and sang with — and will tour with — the newly-reunited The Postal Service. While a breakup was never official, rumors of a retrospective compilation that would serve as a proper end for the band have swirled for years.

Rarities collection rkives will be out April 2 via DeReeder’s Little Record Company label. The album is available for pre-order on digital, CD, and 2xLP formats. A deluxe version includes a cassette of exclusives, CD, vinyl, tote bag, stickers, button, poster, and digital download.

The tracklist is below; personally, we can’t wait for the remix of ‘Dejalo’ that features Too $hort (!). The band is streaming an instrumental version of ‘And That’s How I Choose to Remember It’ and sharing archival photos on their website. Stream ‘The Moneymaker’ B-side ‘Draggin’ Around’ is below; the tracklist follows. [via Pitchfork]

01 Let Me Back In *
02 It’ll Get You There *
03 Runnin’ Around *
04 All the Drugs *
05 Bury, Bury, Bury Another *
06 Well, You Left *
07 Draggin’ Around
08 I Remember You
09 Dejalo (Zondo remix ft. Too $hort)
10 A Town Called Luckey
11 Emotional
12 American Wife
13 Patiently
14 Rest of My Life (demo) *
15 About the Moon
16 The Frug

* previously unreleased

Latest Stories


Share Tweet