When Neneh Cherry announced her new album Blank Project last month, it understandably caused quite a stir.

Not only did she reveal that she would be collaborating with avant garde duo Rocketnumbernine and art pop legend Robyn, but she also announced that the album would be produced by none other than Kieran Hebden, aka Four Tet. Now we can hear the album’s title track, all becomes clear – Rocketnumbernine’s rollicking, percussive backbone sits beneath Cherry’s unmistakable, emotional cry and the concoction sounds like little else.

Hebden’s fingerprints are faint but still just about visible in the crumbling textures and endearingly ramshackle quality of the track, and it certainly signals very positive things for the full-length.

Blank Project will be released on February 25/26 via Smalltown Supersound.


01 Across The Water
02 Blank Project
03 Naked
04 Spit Three Times
05 Weightless
06 Cynical
07 422
08 Out Of The Black (featuring Robyn)
09 Dossier
10 Everything



Share Tweet