Arthur Russell and Steve D'Acquisto's Loose Joints classics reissued by West End Records

Double-whammy of wonky disco coming right up.

West End Records is reissuing a pair of singles by Loose Joints, the downtown disco duo comprising avant-garde cellist Arthur Russell and New York DJ and scene stalwart Steve D’Acquisto.

First up is the dishevelled dancefloor classic ‘Is It All Over My Face’, released in 1980 and made famous by Larry Levan’s ‘Female Vocal’ remix, a Billboard hit and a major influence on the nascent house sound at the Paradise Garage.

The slightly lesser known ‘Tell You (Today)’ is a brassy stomper featuring silky vocals from occasional Russell collaborator Joyce Bowden, and comes as a three-track set with vocal and instrumental versions plus the New Shoes edit.

Due on June 23, both 12″s have been remastered from the original tapes and are fully licensed, reports RA.

Check out all the tracks and tracklists below and find out why Arthur Russell’s World of Echo is the best album of the 1980s.


Tracklists :

‘Is It All Over My Face’
A1 Is It All Over My Face (Female Version)
B1 Is It All Over My Face (Male Version)

‘Tell You (Today)’
A1 Tell You (Today) (Original 12-Inch Vocal)
A2 Tell You (Today) (Original New Shoes Edit)
B1 Tell You (Today) (Original 12-Inch Instrumental)



Share Tweet

Privacy Preference Center

Required Cookies & Technologies

Some of the technologies we use are necessary for critical functions like security and site integrity, account authentication, security and privacy preferences, internal site usage and maintenance data, and to make the site work correctly for browsing and transactions.

gdpr, woocommerce_cart_hash, woocommerce_items_in_cart, _wp_wocommerce_session, sucuri_cloudproxy_uuid_*

Site Customisation

Cookies and similar technologies are used to improve your experience, to do things like:

- remember your login, general, and regional preferences
- personalize content, search, recommendations, and offers

Without these technologies, things like personalised recommendations, your account preferences, or localisation may not work correctly.


Personalised Advertising

These technologies are used for things like:

- personalised ads
- to limit how many times you see an ad
- to understand usage via Google Analytics
- to understand how you got to our web properties
- to ensure that we understand the audience and can provide relevant ads

We do this with social media, marketing, and analytics partners (who may have their own information they’ve collected). Saying no will not stop you from seeing our ads, but it may make them less relevant or more repetitive.

_ga, _gid, gat,_gads,_fbp