Legendary folk rocker Yusuf Islam (né Cat Stevens) has announced his first album since 2009’s Roadsinger

Tell ‘Em I’m Gone will arrive late next month through Legacy Recordings. The 10-track album has been co-produced by Rick Rubin, and will feature a blend of covers and original material. Some impressive guest features are also promised: Richard Thompson, Tinariwen and Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy are all confirmed to appear on the record.

North American fans are also in luck: the singer will embark on a short tour of the US in December, his first in 35 years. Dates are below; a string of UK shows are also promised.

Tell ‘Em I’m Gone will hit stores on October 27. Lead single ‘Dying to Live’ – a cover of Edgar Winter’s 1971 track of the same name – is available to stream below. [via Rolling Stone]

1. “I Was Raised in Babylon”
2. “Big Boss Man”
3. “Dying to Live”
4. “You Are My Sunshine”
5. “Editing Floor Blues”
6. “Cat and the Dog Trap”
7. “Gold Digger”
8. “The Devil Came From Kansas”
9. “Tell ‘Em I’m Gone”
10. “Doors”

Tour Dates:

12/01 – Toronto, ON @ Massey Hall
12/04 – Boston, MA @ Wang Theatre
12/07 – New York, NY @ Beacon Theatre
12/09 – Chicago, IL @ The Chicago Theatre
12/12 – San Francisco, CA @ The Masonic
12/14 – Los Angeles, CA @ Nokia Theatre



Share Tweet