Brian Wilson cuts Frank Ocean and Lana Del Rey from new album No Pier Pressure

Brian Wilson has revealed details of his 11th solo album, No Pier Pressure.

As rumoured, the Beach Boy’s latest record features contributions from She & Him, aka Zooey Deschanel and M. Ward, country singer Kacey Musgraves and fun. frontman Nate Ruess, along with Beach Boys Al Jardine and David Marks.

Conspicuous by their absence are Frank Ocean and Lana Del Rey, who worked with Wilson on two of the album’s songs – ‘Our Special Love’ and ‘The Last Song’, respectively – but have been cut from the final versions, according to the tracklist below.

The album was produced by Joe Thomas, who reprises his role after overseening the Beach Boys’ 2012 record That’s Why God Made the Radio, and also features session players Don Was, Jim Keltner, Dean Parks, and Kenny Aronoff. Bonus songs ‘Don’t Worry’, ‘Somewhere Quiet’, and ‘I’m Feeling Sad’ will feature on a deluxe edition and 2xLP vinyl release. [via Pitchfork; NME]


01 This Beautiful Day
02 Runaway Dancer [ft. Sebu Simonian]
03 What Ever Happened [ft. Al Jardine and David Marks]
04 On The Island [ft. She & Him]
05 Our Special Love [ft. Peter Hollens]
06 The Right Time [ft. Al Jardine and David Marks]
07 Guess You Had To Be There [ft. Kacey Musgraves]
08 Tell Me Why [ft. Al Jardine]
09 Sail Away [ft. Blondie Chaplin and Al Jardine]
10 One Kind Of Love
11 Saturday Night [ft. Nate Ruess]
12 The Last Song
13 Half Moon Bay



Share Tweet