The soundtrack is released June 16.

Pharrell has curated the soundtrack for Dope, an upcoming comedy/drama film directed by Rick Famuyiwa. Dope is centred upon a group of nerdy, 90s-loving teens from Inglewood, California that form a cartel to move several kilos of ecstasy.

Pharrell’s soundtrack features music from Public Enemy, A Tribe Called Quest, Gil Scott-Heron, Nas, Naughty By Nature, and more.

Pharrell has penned four original songs for the film, under the alias of Awreeoh. Pharrell’s contributions are performed by the three fictional characters in the movie (Awreeoh is the name of their band).

Dope hits cinemas June 19 and features an appearance from A$AP Rocky. Check the full tracklist below. [via Pitchfork]



Share Tweet