The set also includes an original children’s book about vinyl.

Jack White has had many vinyl flights of fancy through his label Third Man Records, but his newest venture with Light In The Attic is especially noteworthy. The two labels have teamed to release a new record player set aimed at young children due November 6. The lightweight, portable turntable comes with a built-in speaker and inputs for speakers, headphones, and USB, while Third Man have provided a record for kids to play on it.

Titled This Record Belongs To ______, children are encouraged to write their name in on the cover. The record itself is a compilation of kid-friendly songs curated by music supervisor Zach Cowie including The Pointer Sisters, Kermit The Frog, Van Dyke Parks, Vashti Bunyan, and Shel Silverstein. It’s split into an upbeat A-side “for daytime dancin'” and a mellower B-side for “bedtime lullabies”. Best of all it also comes with an original children’s book by Jess Rotter which follows a group of animal friends who discover a record in the forest and learn about vinyl.

Take a look at pictures and the track list below. Head to Third Man now to order it (just don’t accidentally order their new Wolf Eyes album or your kids might grow up to be FACT staffers.)

This Record Belongs To ______ tracklist:

01. Shel Silverstein – ‘Invitation’
02. Van Dyke Parks – ‘Occapella’
03. Carole King – ‘One Was Johnny’
04. Harry Nilsson – ‘The Town’
05. Harry Nilsson – ‘Me And My Arrow’
06. The Pointer Sisters – ‘Pinball Number Count’
07. Woody Guthrie – ‘Dance Around’
08. Jerry Garcia & David Grisman – ‘Jenny Jenkins’
09. Roger Miller – ‘Oo-De-Lally’
10. Bobby Bare – ‘Daddy What If’
11. Ella Jenkins – ‘Pretty Trees Around The World’
12. Nina Simone – ‘You Can Sing A Rainbow’
13. Vashti Bunyan – ‘Diamond Day’
14. Donovan – ‘The Mandolin Man And His Secret’
15. Miss Abrams & The Strawberry Point 4th Grade Class – ‘Running In The Garden’
16. Kermit The Frog – ‘Rainbow Connection’

Third Man Records, Light In The Attic release turntable and compilation record designed for kids

Third Man Records, Light In The Attic release turntable and compilation record designed for kids



Latest Stories

Latest Stories

Share Tweet

Our privacy policy has changed - please go here to update your preferences.

Privacy Policy