The FACT favorites join forces for an unmissable slab of vinyl.

London experimental sorts Beatrice Dillon and Karen Gwyer have put their heads together to come up with a fresh full-length for Chloe Frieda’s excellent Alien Jams label.

Dillon was responsible for last year’s incredible Face A​/​B and the unmissable Studies I-XVII For Samplers And Percussion with Rupert Clervaux, while Gwyer dropped the hazy, addictive Bouloman. The fact that the 12″ is set to drop on Alien Jams makes perfect sense too. Frieda’s NTS Radio show of the same name is among FACT’s favorite regular listens, and the label is an apt extension of the show’s themes.

Dillon’s track, ‘Curl’ is another dub-flecked affair, drawing on her love of unusual percussion and sounding decidedly different from the usual run of dub techno Basic Channel copyists. Gwyer’s ‘Common Soundproofing Myths’ on the other hand is dense and soupy, layering acidic synths over pounding analog kicks and toms.

You can hear snippets of the album below. The split is set for release in late May and you can pre-order over at Bandcamp.



Share Tweet