Blonde Redhead revisit their Smells Like Records years with new collection.

After the recent release of the “Where Is John?” Peel Sessions 7″, Numero Group has announced they are compiling a massive boxset of Blonde Redhead’s early work. Formed in the early 90s, Blonde Redhead is a direct descendent of Sonic Youth’s influence, originally signing with Steve Shelley’s Smells Like Records before moving on to Touch & Go and later 4AD. Comprised of singer-guitarist Kazu Makino and Italian twins Amedeo (vocals and guitar) and Simone Pace (drums), the band has remained innovative from the beginnings through 2014’s somber Barragán, which was released via Kobalt.

The collection named Masculin Féminin, presumably after the film by Jean-Luc Godard, reissues their first two albums – Blonde Redhead and La Mia Vita Violenta – as well as rarities, outtakes, radio appearances, off-album singles and more. In their early days, the band also included bassist Maki Takahashi, who will appear on this comp. (The band enlisted Unwound’s Vern Rumsey to play on third album Fake Can Be Just as Good before ditching the instrument, more or less, all together.)

It will be released on 4xLP or 2xCDs with a book of essays on the band’s beginnings, as well as unseen photos. Hear rare track ‘Big Song’ and watch the trailer for the boxset below.

01 ‘I Don’t Want U’
02 ‘Sciuri Sciura’
03 ‘Astro Boy’
04 ‘Without Feathers’
05 ‘Snippet’
06 ‘Mama Cita’
07 ‘Swing Pool’
08 ‘Girl Boy’
09 ‘Amescream’
10 ‘Big Song’
11 ‘Inside You’
12 ‘Vague’
13 ‘Jet Star’
14 ‘This Is The Number Of Times I Said I Will But Didn’t (4 Track Demo)’
15 ‘Instrumental (Live at Snacktime)’
16 ‘Slogan Attempt’
17 ‘Swing Pool Instrumental (Live at Snacktime)’
18 ‘Woody (4 Track Demo)’
19 ‘(I Am Taking Out My Eurotrash) I Still Get Rocks Off’
20 ‘Violent Life’
21 ‘U.F.O.’
22 ‘I Am There While You Choke On Me’
23 ‘Harmony’
24 ‘Down Under’
25 ‘Bean’
26 ‘Young Neil’
27 ’10 Feet High’
28 ‘Jewel’
29 ‘Flying Douglas’
30 ‘Harmony (7″ Version)’
31 ’10 Feet High (7″ Version)’
32 ‘Valentine’
33 ‘Not Too Late’
34 ‘(I Am Taking Out My Eurotrash) I Still Get Rocks Off (KCRW Session)’
35 ‘Pier Paolo (KCRW Session)’
36 ‘Country Song (La Mia Vita Violenta Outtake)’
37 ‘It Was All So Sudden (4 Track Demo)’



Share Tweet