An essential chronicle of Paul Nickerson and Francis Englehardt’s Dope Jams.

If you spent any time record hunting in New York City in 2005-2012, you no doubt came across Brooklyn’s Dope Jams, the beloved store that twinned vintage house and disco 12″s with occult merchandise and a side helping of objectively correct opinion.

Dope Jams relocated to the Catskills in 2013, but now remember the NYC days with a bumper 3LP compilation entitled Dope Jams NYC Volume 1: 2005-2012. The deluxe package includes a large 32-page booklet detailing the store’s history (with photos, profiles and vivid personal reflections) and a selection of tracks – some old classics and some completely unreleased – that represent the store’s unique outlook.

Dope Jams

You can take a closer look at the tracklist below, and Dope Jams NYC Volume 1: 2005-2012 is due for release on Friday, November 25.


A1. Groovestyle – ‘L.O.V.E’
A2. Tommy E – ‘I Need To Go Away (All By Myself)’
B1. Funk D’Void – ‘Thank You (Slowly)’
B2. Vil-N-X – ‘What Cha Gonna Do’
C1. Beige – ‘Hollow Point’
C2. Hieroglyphic Being – ‘Kilometer Zero’
D1. Analogous Doom – ‘Living In A Zome’
D2. D’Marc Cantu – ‘Taken’
D3. Spike – ‘Magic Table’ (Francis Englehardt Remix)
E1. The Djoon Experience – ‘Old Landmark’ feat. Kenny Bobien
E2. 2AM/FM – ‘Desolate Cities’
F1. Tom Of England – ‘Be Me’
F2. Invisible Conga People – ‘In A Hole’
F3. Christopher Deloach – ‘Snow’ feat. Nick Hallstrom



Share Tweet