Lead single ‘Journey to E’ hints at the strongest material yet from the power ambient operator.

Edinburgh-based artist Steven Shade, aka Sevendeaths, returns to LuckyMe this month for his second album, Remote Sympathy.

The follow-up to 2014’s drone spectacular Concreté Misery is Shade’s first release to be pressed to wax, and is billed as “an album of cinematic, synth-epic drone music created during long nights of sleep deprivation.”

This time around he’s expanded his palette – which previously included an arsenal of DIY equipment – to include sampling, spectral resynthesis, and vocal and live contributions from collaborators Rafe Fitzpatrick and Iban Perez.

Taking inspiration from Coil, Prurient, Richard Skelton and Bernard Parmigiani, the record is “both a celebration of life and human strength and an acceptance of the frailty of the human spirit,” the label notes.

The first single, ‘Journey to E’, is out today with the album to come on February 24 in LP, CD and digital formats. Check the tracklist and artwork below.

01. ‘Sunnbear’
02. ‘Journey to E’
03. ‘A Kin 2’
04. ‘Eternal Sprung’
05. ‘The Humours in The Tumours’
06. ‘Seed’
07. ‘Remote Sympathy’
08. ‘Subordinate Claudes’
09. ‘Torrent of Tears’
10. ‘Some Burnt’



Share Tweet