Weekly Playlist

L-Vis 1990 & Sinjin Hawke Feat. Pink Dollaz 'Cake (UNiiQU3 Remix)'

via soundcloud.com

Now Playing


  • L-Vis 1990 & Sinjin Hawke Feat. Pink Dollaz
  • 'Cake (UNiiQU3 Remix)'
  • Blawan
  • 'North'
  • Viva La Void
  • 'Red Rider'
  • Oli XL
  • 'Stress Junkie'
  • E-40
  • 'Boy' (feat. P-Lo)
  • Honnda
  • ‘Maraschino Zap’
  • Carlos Giffoni
  • ‘Vain’s Face’
  • Kawaguchi Masami's New Rock Syndicate
  • 'From Now On'
  • Antemeridian
  • 'Tuesday AM'
  • Aïsha Devi
  • 'Dislocation of the Alpha'
  • Ras G & The Afrikan Space Program
  • 'The Arrival'
  • Jay Prince
  • 'In The Morning'
  • MJ Cole x Kojey Radical
  • 'Soak It Up'
  • Knightstown
  • 'Keep'
  • Will DiMaggio
  • ‘UH UH OH’

“The work can be thought of as a very slow and reduced blues music.”

Stockholm-based composer Ellen Arkbro has announced her new album for organ and brass will be out next month on Subtext.

An experimental artist who once wrote a piece that lasted 26 days, Arkbro focuses her new album on the eponymous instruments while exploring the new sounds created when the organ tones mix with horn, tuba and trombone arrangements.

“The brass instruments and the organ fall into patterns of interaction in which a new breathing instrument emerges,” she explains. Arkbro wrote the album for a specific historical tuning that she achieved with the Sherer-Orgel organ in St. Stephen’s Church in Germany, an instrument dating back to 1624 that’s still in use today.

Arkbro points out that many of the history intervals and chords she uses on the Renaissance-era organ closely resemble the traditional framework of blues music and resembles “a very slow and reduced blues music.”

for organ and brass is out April 14. Listen to an excerpt from the title piece below.



Share Tweet