Hyetal – ‘Phoenix’

Hyetal will release his debut album, Broadcast, on May 2.

Based in Bristol, Hyetal made a name for himself releasing on dubstep, or dubstep-related labels like Punch Drunk, Soul Motive and Orca, but has made it clear of late that he’s more influenced by the likes of Games, Boards of Canada, Prince and John Carpenter than he is straight dance music; a combination exemplified by ‘Phoenix’, his staggering last single on Orca and his widest-reaching track to date.

Broadcast, in fact, won’t be released on any of the above labels. Bristol’s Black Acre are putting the record out on CD and vinyl, and preceding its release with an April 11 single called ‘Diamond Islands’, featuring vocalist Alison Garner and backed with a Boddika remix. You can check the album’s tracklist and artwork below.

Update: you can now stream ‘Diamond Islands’:

Hyetal – Diamond Islands

In more Hyetal news, he’ll be debuting his live show at XOYO, for the FACT and Young Turks party on April 8. Also playing on the night are Jamie xx b2b Oneman, and a special guest in the form of one of our favourite juke producers.

Broadcast tracklist (CD):
1. Ritual
2. Diamond Islands ft. Alison Garner
3. Phoenix
4. Beach Scene
5. The Chase
6. Searchlight
7. Dimepiece
8. Boneyard
9. Transmission
10. Black Black Black ft. Alison Garner

Broadcast tracklist (2X12″):
A1. Searchlight
B1. Beach Scene
C1. Dimepiece
C2. Boneyard
D. Black Black Black



Share Tweet