The Pop Group's Mark Stewart announces full details of "sonically savaged" new album Exorcism of Envy

Post-punk veteran Mark Stewart has announced full details of his new album, Exorcism of Envy.

A deconstruction of March’s The Politics of Envy, Stewart’s eighth album since the demise of of past band The Pop Group, it finds Stewart “sonically savaging, completely reworking and recreating” material from Politics. In Stewart’s words, he’s “deconstructed [it] in the tradition of dub”.

“The original dub masters experimented”, Stewart continues in the album’s press release, “and for me experimentation really matters, crashing in an index of possibilities. It’s an expansion of my recent album, stripping it back to a skeletal dub and then burying it in bi-products of our hyper media.”

The Politics of Envy saw Stewart show off his phonebook like never before, featuring collaborations with Primal Scream, Richard Hell, Daddy G, Lee ‘Scratch’ Perry, The Jesus & Mary Chain’s Douglas Hart and more. On the fantastic ‘Stereotype’, he teamed up with Factory Floor and Public Image Ltd’s Keith Levene – FACT TV just premiered the video, and you can watch it here:

Future Noise will release Exorcism of Envy on December 3.

1. Baby Cino
2. Sexorcist
3. Gustav Says
4. Method To The Madness
5. Codex
6. Want
7. Mirror Wars feat. Xacute
8. Letter (Full Of Tears)
9. Apocalypse Hotel
10. Attack Dogs
11. Killswitch



Share Tweet