Instrumentals from J Dilla's <em>Rebirth of Detroit</em> due out on vinyl

A selection of beats from last summer’s Rebirth of Detroit have been repackaged as a new release.

2013 has been the year of the posthumous Dilla release, including the previously-unheard Music From The Lost Scrolls Vol. 1, Moodyman’s Lost Tapes collection, and the forthcoming vocal album The Diary. Dilla’s mother Ma Dukes has even taken to selling Dilla’s records on eBay.

2012’s Rebirth of Detroit was the first release on Ma Duke’s Ruff Draft imprint and featured Danny Brown, Phat Kat, Guilty Simpson, The Cool Kids’ Chuck English and Illa J on the mic. This new collection features twelve of the beats from the 21-track album.

The tracks have never been pressed to vinyl, and span a decade of work, “from Slum Village to Donuts” according to press materials. The double LP is due out on April 23 and is available for pre-order via Fat Beats. Stream ‘Rebirth Is Necessary’ below; the album’s tracklist follows. [via Pitchfork]

Side A:
1. Detroit Madness
2. Big Thangs
3. Ride With It

Side B:
1. Detroit Game
2. Feel This Shit
3. City Of Boom

Side C:
1. Do It Right
2. My Victory
3. Rebirth Is Necessary

Side D:
1. Dillatroit
2. Center Of The Movement
3. Do It For Dilla Dawg



Share Tweet