Ryan Hemsworth is Alone For The First Time on guest-heavy new album – watch the video for 'Snow In Newark'

Emo-loving producer details his “happysad” second album.

When Ryan Hemsworth unveiled the first single from his new full-length, a twinkly collaboration with Dawn Golden titled ‘Snow In Newark’, FACT’s Singles Club reviewers were bemused by his weepy new direction.

The Canadian producer has now revealed more details about his album, which he has described as “a reaction to all the party music out there now”. Titled Alone for the First Time, it features seven new tracks, the majority of which feature guests including Alex G, Lontalius, Kotomi & DOSS, the GTW and Little Cloud.

‘Snow In Newark’ now has a video, which was shot in Nepal by Martin Pariseau, which you can watch on Hemsworth’s website.. “This is the second part to the video for ‘One For Me’ — my quest to get out of these clubs and find something different…. It was shot over a week in Nepal and I tried to take everything in; overwhelmed in a different way than usual and a hiatus from necessary evils,” said Hemsworth.

That single is coming out as a limited edition 7″ on October 28 with a B-side, ‘Body Pillow’, featuring Maryland ambient/R&B explorer Ricky Eat Acid.

Earlier this year FACT introduced the video game-obsessed Hemsworth to Donkey Kong Country composer David Wise for a very special interview, while his FACT mix from 2012 is a perennial joy. [via Exclaim]


01 Hurt Me
02 Walk Me Home (ft. Lontalius)
03 Snow In Newark (ft. Dawn Golden)
04 Blemish
05 Too Long Here (ft. Alex G)
06 Surrounded (ft. Kotomi & DOSS)
07 By Myself (ft. the GTW & Little Cloud)



Share Tweet