The Brooklyn promoter will inaugurate its label with a compilation entitled Purple Trax 1.

Brooklyn-based blog and promoter Weird Magic has announced the launch of its record label arm. Weird Magic launched back in 2010, hosting early performances from the likes of Grimes, A$AP Rocky and the Teklife crew while documenting Brookyln’s fascination with new age, machine-made dance music.

Purple Trax 1 collects tracks from both established artists, including Traxman, Terekke, Huerco S and Aurora Halal, as well as efforts from newcomers such as Librae, Sasha Desree, Far Out Far Out, Joe P, Sasha Jan Rezzie. The compilation also includes a contribution from Logan Takahashi, better known as one half of Teengirl Fantasy.

A Kickstarter campaign has been launched with the aim of pressing the compilation to purple vinyl. Weird Magic have also outlined their plans for the coming year on the crowdfunding page.

Purple Trax 1 is available now. You can stream the compilation in full below. [via Resident Advisor]


01. Huerco S – Battery Tunnel
02. Via App – Exit The Wizard
03. RIVKA – Sweet Talk
04. Far Out Far Out – Zodiacal Light
05. Terekke – Amaze (Live)
06. Sasha Jan Rezzie – All My Dreams
07. Joe Jones – Did I?
08. Logan Takahashi – Orb O
09. Aurora Halal – Transient
10. Beta Librae – Birdi
11. Traxman – See Da Lite
12. Sasha Desree – Other Side of Love (Live PA)



Share Tweet

Privacy Preference Center

Required Cookies & Technologies

Some of the technologies we use are necessary for critical functions like security and site integrity, account authentication, security and privacy preferences, internal site usage and maintenance data, and to make the site work correctly for browsing and transactions.

gdpr, woocommerce_cart_hash, woocommerce_items_in_cart, _wp_wocommerce_session, sucuri_cloudproxy_uuid_*

Site Customisation

Cookies and similar technologies are used to improve your experience, to do things like:

- remember your login, general, and regional preferences
- personalize content, search, recommendations, and offers

Without these technologies, things like personalised recommendations, your account preferences, or localisation may not work correctly.


Personalised Advertising

These technologies are used for things like:

- personalised ads
- to limit how many times you see an ad
- to understand usage via Google Analytics
- to understand how you got to our web properties
- to ensure that we understand the audience and can provide relevant ads

We do this with social media, marketing, and analytics partners (who may have their own information they’ve collected). Saying no will not stop you from seeing our ads, but it may make them less relevant or more repetitive.

_ga, _gid, gat,_gads,_fbp