Príncipe Discos, home to DJ Marfox, Nigga Fox and Nidia Minaj, showcase more batida goodness from Lisbon with two new releases next month.

Normal Nada, an “elusive underground metakuduro legend from the Lisbon suburban area”, debuts on the label with a seven-track EP titled Transmutação Cerebral. Príncipe calls him “a special kind of cosmogonical pirate exploring chemical balanced regimes of wake-sleep and the seductive dimensions between both,” but there’s no chance of drifting off to the gravelly voices and wonky rhythms of ‘Nubai (Wo Io IoI)’ – check it out below.

Blacksea Não Maya, a three-piece from the south of Lisbon comprising producers Kolt, Noronha and Perigoso (pictured), arrive with an EP of kuduro mutations which lean variously towards house and funaná, with the label suggesting they make “alien rumba for ballroom dance matinées.” Check out opening track ‘Batidongoo’ below.

Both records arrive on vinyl and digital on December 11 via Príncipe.

Catch up with DJ Marfox’s FACT mix and read FACT’s early investigation into Lisbon’s batida revolution.

Transmutação Cerebral tracklist:

A1. Aurabi
A2. Nubai (Wo Lo Lol)
A3. Kakarak 1
A4. Kakarak 2
B1. Ritmo Thoth
B2. Azouse
B3. Tarraxinha da Calopsita

Calor no Frioo tracklist:

A1. DJ KOLT & DJ NORONHA – Batidongoo
A2. DJ PERIGOSO – MacoBayou
A3. DJ KOLT & DJ PERIGOSO – Assabakuse
We Send This
B2. DJ KOLT & DJ PERIGOSO – Perseguição
B3. DJ KOLT & DJ PERIGOSO – Comandante Em Chefe



Share Tweet