The defunct noise-rock unit have been going through their archives.

Sonic Youth have compiled an album of rarities intended for their soundtrack to Ken Friedman’s 1987 film Made In U.S.A.

The instrumental demos are described as the “rough gestural sketches” for their first film score (later released as an OST album), and were recorded at North Hollywood’s Spinhead Studio, which gives the album its name. Thurston Moore said in a statement that the recordings showcase “spindly, twisting rhythms and quiet rushes of noise and melody.”

1986 Spinhead Sessions is due on June 17 through the band’s own Sonic Youth Recordings. Zone out to ‘Theme With Noise’ below. Underneath, check out the tracklist and see the band looking absolutely peak on the artwork.

The album is in addition to the band’s current vinyl reissue campaign, which has seen a clutch of their ‘90s albums return to wax in recent months.

For more in the spindly, sad vein of ‘Theme With Noise’, head to our 30 best post-rock albums. [via Brooklyn Vegan]



01. ‘Ambient Guitar & Dreamy Theme’
02. ‘Theme With Noise’
03. ‘High Mesa’
04. ‘Unknown Theme’
05. ‘Wolf’
06. ‘Scalping’
07. ‘Theme 1 Take 4’



Share Tweet