The new single features scratching from Beastie Boys turntablist Mix Master Mike.

Metronomy have shared details of their fifth album and unveiled the first single, ‘Old Skool’.

Written and produced by the band’s Joe Mount, Summer 08 – due for release July 1 on Because Music – is a concept album that takes a reflective look back to 2008 and the release of the band’s breakthrough album Nights Out.

“I wanted to make another record with the naivety of Nights Out: ten tracks, straight up, upbeat. Write another banger, then another, and don’t really think about it,” explains Mount.

If features contributions from Beastie Boys turntablist Mix Master Mike – who has turned his scratching talents to first single ‘Old Skool’- as well as a duet with Swedish popstar Robyn on ‘Hang Me Out To Dry’, which has been mixed by Erol Alkan. Full tracklist below.

First single ‘Old Skool’ – accompanied by a ’70s-esque Abigail’s Party-inspired video – is about “being totally idiotic and just jealous.”

“I was living in East London in 2008 and felt like all this stuff was happening in the West end,” says Mount. “It’s nonsense really, but I felt it was this privileged end of town, all the musicians there had wealthy parents and were living in Ladbroke Grove and Notting Hill.” 

This new LP is the follow-up to 2014’s Love Letters.


01. Back Together
02. Miami Logic
03. Old Skool (with Mixmaster Mike)
04. 16 Beat
05. Hang Me Out To Dry (with Robyn)
06. Mick Slow
07. My House
08. Night Owl
09. Love’s Not an Obstacle
10. Summer Jam



Share Tweet