Masayoshi Fujita & Jan Jelinek follow up 2010’s Bird, Lake, Objects.

Japanese vibraphone virtuoso Masayoshi Fujita first collaborated with German experimental producer Jan Jelinek in 2010 on the excellent Bird, Lake, Objects full-length. Now the duo have put the finishing touches on its follow-up, Schaum, which utilizes a similar formula. Fujita’s plaintive tones are manipulated by loop wizard Jelinek and the result is deep and strangely haunting.

‘Vague, Yet’ is the latest taste of Schaum, and comes accompanied by a suitably woozy video from director Anthony Sylvester, who captures his imagery by using reflections, painting a cracked mirror of the music’s looping, echoing tones.

Schaum will be released on September 9 on CD, vinyl and digital via Jan Jelinek’s own Faitiche imprint.



Share Tweet

Privacy Preference Center

Required Cookies & Technologies

Some of the technologies we use are necessary for critical functions like security and site integrity, account authentication, security and privacy preferences, internal site usage and maintenance data, and to make the site work correctly for browsing and transactions.

gdpr, woocommerce_cart_hash, woocommerce_items_in_cart, _wp_wocommerce_session, sucuri_cloudproxy_uuid_*

Site Customisation

Cookies and similar technologies are used to improve your experience, to do things like:

- remember your login, general, and regional preferences
- personalize content, search, recommendations, and offers

Without these technologies, things like personalised recommendations, your account preferences, or localisation may not work correctly.


Personalised Advertising

These technologies are used for things like:

- personalised ads
- to limit how many times you see an ad
- to understand usage via Google Analytics
- to understand how you got to our web properties
- to ensure that we understand the audience and can provide relevant ads

We do this with social media, marketing, and analytics partners (who may have their own information they’ve collected). Saying no will not stop you from seeing our ads, but it may make them less relevant or more repetitive.

_ga, _gid, gat,_gads,_fbp