Tresor promises there’s an album in the pipeline as well.

Veteran dub techno duo Porter Ricks will release their first new material in 17 years on Berlin’s Tresor label next month.

The three-track Shadow Boat EP is the first new music from the pair since the Symbiotics split with Techno Animal, released on Mille Plateaux in 1999. It comes ahead of an album from the duo next year.

According to the label, the EP is more focused on rhythm and melody than their earlier material, but “employs equally subtle artistic sensibilities that transcend the styles that typify contemporary electronic music.” It’s released on November 4.

Comprised of sound artist Thomas Köner and producer Andy Mellwig, Porter Ricks made their debut in 1996 with the landmark album Biokinetics. It was the first release on Basic Channel sub-label Chain Reaction, which also put out music from Scion, Vladislav Delay and Monolake.

The duo built upon the dub techno framework laid down by Basic Channel with their own sonic nuances, and the album was reissued in 2012 on Type after original CD copies reached considerable prices on Discogs.

Porter Ricks played a live set at the Berlin Atonal festival in August.

Read next: The 25 best dub techno tracks of all time



Share Tweet