The vinyl obsessive picks Sparks, Suicide and Giorgio Moroder.

Director Nicolas Winding Refn will release a compilation of songs that inspired his recent horror movie The Neon Demon.

The Wicked Die Young spans punk, disco and electro, including tracks by Suicide, Dionne Warwick, Giorgio Moroder, Johnny Thunders and Sparks. It also features music by Refn’s previous collaborator Cliff Martinez, who has scored Refn’s past three films, and his son Julian Winding, who contributed to Only God Forgives and The Neon Demon.

The Wicked Die Young will be released by Milan Records on 14 April, with pre-orders available now. Refn has been releasing his “Refn Presents” series through Milan Records since 2015, releasing the scores to Old Boy, Robocop, The Terminator and It Follows.

In a 2015 FACT interview Refn explained why integrating music into moving image is so important for him. “Even when I shoot films I play music on set, in between takes,” he said. “It helps you convey emotion better for actors — and brings people to a place of being that helps their performance.” [via The Vinyl Factory]

See the tracklist and artwork below Moroder’s fabulously sleazy ‘Knights in White Satin’.


Side A
01. Electric Youth – ‘Good Blood’
02. Lynsey de Paul – ‘Won’t Somebody Dance With Me’
03. Suicide – ‘Cheree (1998 Remastered Version)’
04. 999 – ‘Homicide’
05. Johnny Thunders & The Heartbreakers – ‘Pirate Love’
06. Dionne Warwick – ‘(Theme From) Valley of the Dolls’
07. Tommy Seebach – ‘Bubble Sex’
08. Amanda Lear – ‘Follow Me’

Side B
01. Giorgio Moroder – ‘Knights In White Satin’
02. Sparks – ‘The No. 1 Song In Heaven’
03. Cliff Martinez – ‘Becoming’
04. Pino Donaggio – ‘Dressed to Kill (Pulsion) (1980): The Shower (Theme from Dressed to Kill)’
05. Claudio Gizzi – ‘End Of A Myth’
06. Julian Winding – ‘When You Want To Hurt Someone’

Read next: Cliff Martinez on horror, homage and The Neon Demon

Latest Stories


Share Tweet