Originally posted by The Vinyl Factory

The compilation features ‘Vitamin C’, ‘Spoon’ and other career-defining hits.

Can have announced a new compilation titled Can — The Singles, a collection of the band’s single releases.

Out via Mute/Spoon on June 16, the compilation will span the breadth of the krautrock pioneer’s prolific career. Released on triple vinyl, it will take in well-known tracks like ‘Halleluwah’, ‘Future Days’ and ‘Vitamin C’, as well as lesser-known gems like ‘Turtles Have Short Legs’. Listen to that track, which was released on 7″ in 1971, and see the tracklist below.

In addition to the forthcoming singles collection, Mute has also announced a new biographical book from Faber & Faber titled All Gates Open . Due out in spring 2018, the book will comprise of two volumes. The first volume will contain the first authorized biography of the band, written by Rob Young, while the second is a collage of Can member Irmin Schmidt’s thoughts, visuals and interviews entitled Can Kiosk.

In January, Can drummer and founding member Jaki Liebezeit died aged 78. Liebezeit was a key exponent in the development of krautrock’s genre-defining motorik sound.

This Saturday (April 8), members of Can will reunite for a special 50th anniversary show at London’s Barbican Hall billed as ‘The Can Project’.


01. ‘Soul Desert’
02. ‘She Brings The Rain’
03. ‘Spoon’
04. ‘Shikako Maru Ten’
05. ‘Turtles Have Short Legs’
06. ‘Halleluwah (Edit)’
07. ‘Vitamin C’
08. ‘I’m So Green’
09. ‘Mushroom’
10. ‘Moonshake’
11. ‘Future Days’ (Edit)
12. ‘Dizzy Dizzy’ (Edit)
13. ‘Splash’ (Edit)
14. ‘Hunters And Collectors’ (Edit)
15. ‘Vernal Equinox’ (Edit)
16. ‘I Want More’
17. ‘…And More’
18. ‘Silent Night’
19. ‘Cascade Waltz’
20. ‘Don’t Say No’ (Edit)
21. ‘Return’
22. ‘Can Can’
23. ‘Hoolah Hoolah’ (Edit)

Read next: “Something new, something German”: CAN’s Irmin Schmidt on a lifetime of soundtracks



Share Tweet