The theme of this year’s festival is “We The People”.

The Afropunk festival is to return to London for its second edition on July 22-23, and has announced a tantalising initial line-up.

Grime and UK rap are well-represented, with Jme, Nadia Rose (pictured above), Little Simz and Kojey Radical all on the bill. The strength of British soul is also on display, courtesy of Corinne Bailey Rae, Lianne La Havas and Nao. Meanwhile, the festival has also snapped up heavyweight American names such as Danny Brown, Willow Smith, Thundercat and Saul Williams.

DJs will include party-starters Blacktronica as well as Radio 1’s Clara Amfo.

Last year’s event was a one-day special at Alexandra Palace headlined by Grace Jones (after M.I.A. was controversially announced as the initial headliner). This year, Afropunk has expanded to a full weekend at Canada Water’s Printworks venue that will also include on-site arts, stalls, food and more.

Afropunk’s raison d’être has always been to celebrate multiculturalism and diversity, and this year’s “We The People” theme – taken from the words that begin the American and South African constitutions – is accompanied by a manifesto against inequality.

Watch the line-up video below and find the full line-up on the Afropunk website:



Share Tweet