Act II: Patent Of Nobility – the long-mooted, long-absent studio debut from rap shaman Jay Electronica – has now got a tracklisting.

Potted history: the New Orleans rapper won shedloads of acclaim for 2007’s beatless Act I: Eternal Sunshine (The Pledge) mixtape, easily one of the most mercurial rap releases of the decade. 2009’s ‘Exhibit C’ single got plenty of ‘verse of the year’ nods, and Electronica subsequently signed to Roc Nation in 2010. Since then, he’s been a frustratingly elusive presence, although recent months have brought a new demo and Twitter rumblings about a Lil B collaboration.

Pitchfork report that Electronica has released a tracklist for Act II: Patent Of Nobility on Twitter, and there are some pretty remarkable guest features. The star wattage is through the roof: Kanye West, Jay-Z, Diddy and The-Dream will all feature. More interestingly, both Charlotte Gainsbourg and a reanimated Serge Gainsbourg will appear on the record, with the latter cropping up on a rework of his 1968 masterstroke ‘Bonnie And Clyde’. ‘Life On Mars’ also features former partner Erykah Badu’s Twitter address in its title; it’s unclear whether this is simply a dedication or a hint at a full-blown Badu feature. No news on a release date as yet.

01 Real Magic [ft. Ronald Regan]
02 New Illuminati [ft. Kanye West]
03 Patents of Nobility
04 Life on Mars (@FatBellyBella)
05 Bonnie & Clyde guest starring Serge Gainsbourg
06 Dinner at Tiffanys (The Shiny Suit Theory) [ft. Charlotte Gainsbourg, Jay-Z & The-Dream]
07 Memories & Merlot
08 Better in Tune with the Infinite [ft. Latonya Givens]
09 A Letter to Falon
10 Road to Perdition [ft. Jay-Z]
11 Welcome to Knightsbridge [ft. Sean Diddy Combs]
12 Rough Love [ft. Kanye West]
13 Run & Hide guest starring The Bullitts
14 Nights of the Roundtable (first draft skeleton)
15 10,000 Lotus Petals



Share Tweet