Om Unit collects two years of "slow/fast" on Cosmic Bridge compilation

Om Unit, Kromestar, Boxcutter and more appear on Cosmology.

Since launching Cosmic Bridge in 2011, label boss Jim ‘Om Unit’ Coles has nurtured a sound that’s come to be dubbed “slow/fast”, blending dubstep’s half-time heartbeat with the scattershot rhythms of footwork and the irrepressible energy of jungle in a transatlantic update of the 140bpm vibe, as documented by FACT’s Laurent Fintoni last year.

Looking back on his operation’s first few years, Coles has compiled Cosmology, a nine-track compilation showcasing the first wave of slow/fast artists, with material from Kromestar, Boxcutter, EAN, Danny Scrilla and the label boss himself.

The digital compilation includes a VIP version of Danny Scrilla’s ‘X’ and the first release of Kromestar’s dub ‘V7STX’ – check out the tracklist below and hear the original ‘X’. It’s out on July 21.

Coles sat down with FACT TV last year to pick out 10 records that have made their mark on his career, from Burial and Loefah to Quasimoto and more.


01 Om Unit & Moresounds – ‘Nuff Music’
02 Kromestar – ‘V7STX’
03 Danny Scrilla x Om Unit – ‘Hunch’ (Epoch Remix)
04 Danny Scrilla – ‘X’ (VIP)
05 Moresounds – ‘Sound Bizness’
06 EAN – ‘I Bus’ The Mic’
07 Boxcutter – ‘Active Transformation 2’ (Feat. Star Fu)
08 Danny Scrilla x Epoch – ‘Geometry’
09 Om Unit x Danny Scrilla – ‘Gentrification’



Share Tweet