A heart-on-sleeve techno session from former FACT mixer.

British producer and DJ Max Cooper is at the controls for this week’s Radio 1 Essential Mix, dropping a bundle of unreleased goodies from himself and mates like Tim Hecker and Nils Frahm.

“I wanted to make this mix a fusion of everything that I love most about music, without any restraints. As a result it plays a little like a trip through the inside of my head,” says Cooper, whose latest release, the twinkling Kindred EP, came out at the end of 2014.

“I was lucky enough to receive some amazing unreleased tracks from some of the best out there; Nils Frahm, Lusine, Rob Clouth and Tim Hecker. I’ve hidden a couple of new tracks of mine in there too.”

Stream the mix on iPlayer or Mixcloud and see the tracklist below.


Max Cooper – Essential Mix 2015-02-28 tracklist:
Roska – NDOW
Max Cooper – 4D Wave Interference [White Label]
A Winged Victory for the Sullen – Atomos VI [Erased Tapes]
Max Cooper – Untitled [White Label]
Vaetxh – List of Lists [Detroit Underground]
L’usine – Arterial [Ghostly International]
Kimyan Law – Eclairage [Blu Mar Ten Music]
Fran Seven – At Least [Atomnation]
Isaac Delusion – Pandora’s Box (Lusine Remix) [White Label]
Burial – Rough Sleeper [Hyperdub]
Gidge – Huldra [Atomnation]
Kiasmos – Looped [Erased Tapes]
Samu.l – Beach [Surface]
Fennesz – Before I Leave [Mego]
Rob Clouth – Untitled [White Label]
Tessela – C’mon Lets Slow Dance [R&S Records]
JoeFarr – Tape 7 (Tessela Remix) [DSNT Records]
The Future Sound of London – Papua New Guinea [Jumpin’ & Pumpin’]
Faib – Inhale [Smoking Sessions]
Nils Frahm – Peter (Max Cooper Remix Edit) [White Label]
Tom Hodge – Teotihuacan (Part 1) [Quotient Series]
Rob Clouth – The Smallest Possible Space [Leisure System]
Alberto Ruiz – Haze [Be One Records]
Rrose – 23 Lashes [Eaux]
Dyad – From Another Place [Dyad]
Pfirter – Supraventricular [Stroboscopic Artefacts]
Rival Consoles – Haunt [Erased Tapes]
OneohtrixPointNever – Rush [Warp]
Rob Clouth – Deep Field [Leisure System]
JoeFarr – Mormon Shuffle [Leisure System]
Satirist – Untitled [White Label]
Dorian Concept – The Sky Opposite (Tim Hecker Remix) [Ninja Tune]
Tom Hodge – Remnants [Fields]
Kimyan Law – Daimyo [Blu Mar Ten Music]
Rival Consoles – Recovery [Erased Tapes]
Boards of Canada – Dayvan Cowboy [Warp]
Rockwell – Full Circle [Shogun Audio]
Cirrus – Shiver Shrapnel (Woulg Remix) [Terra Null Recordings]
Vaetxh – List of Lists [Detroit Underground]
The Rustle of the Stars – Sleeping Land (Part 1) (Max Cooper Remix) [Quotient Series]
Nils Frahm – Them [White Label]



Share Tweet